A Risk

For the past two weeks my friend Sharlee at Believinginsomething.com has been hosting a giveaway. To partake, you had to blog about a risk you had taken. I was a bad friend, and I didn’t participate. I wanted to, although the truth is, I couldn’t for the life of me think of a risk I’ve recently taken. Lame, I know, but true. I play it pretty safe for the most part.

Today, however, I took a risk, or at least a risk to me. First I’ll give you a little background info.

After having Grace, I joined a group called Boise Babies and Tots. It’s a group of moms through Meetup.com. They get together for play dates, walks on the greenbelt, mom nights out, etc. With as busy as I was this last year, paired with my commute to work, I didn’t attend a single activity through the meetup group. My plan was to get involved once school was out.

Here’s the deal though. I’m shy. It’s ridiculous actually. My mother had the gift of the gab. She could make friends in any situation. I, on the other hand, am quiet. It takes me a while to warm up. I am not a social risk taker in the least bit, however, I would love for Grace to have kids her age to play with. So, today I took the plunge. I signed up to go on a walk on the greenbelt, followed by time after for the kids to play at Municipal Park.

When I signed up only one other person was signed up to go. I was nervous. I thought of backing out actually, and then I thought, “Why not? What’s the worst that could happen?”

So I went. I met at the designated waiting spot, and I waited. And waited. And waited.

But no showed:)

I was disappointed, and to be honest, kind of relieved.

I took a risk. It didn’t work out like I planned, but I’m somehow less afraid to do it the next time.

As a result, Grace and I had a beautiful walk along the greenbelt. (It made me miss living in Boise just a tad!)
And, here in a minute, once I post this, and wake Grace from her nap,
we’re going to spend a little time playing on the playground just the two of us.

20120529-162042.jpg

20120529-162140.jpg

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

