Summer Is Finally Here…

and I have been waiting for it!

I teach. I love my job. I love my students, and I LOVE my summers off!

This last year has been a tough one. Going back to teaching after having Grace was rough. Although I got more used to that feeling of being away from her, it never got easier. I still ached every Sunday night as I looked ahead to a full week of teaching and spending my days away from Grace. I’ve been looking forward to summer and this expanse of uninterrupted time with her.

In addition, it’s just been a plain difficult year for my school. My district is in a transition period. It’s going through a lot of changes, from our middle school and high school principals being let go and us downsizing two one principal between two schools, to moving to a four day school week. Our schools and our community have also been through a lot of heart ache this year, losing two former students and one current one.

A large part of me was sad to see the year end as I know a lot of changes will he happening come fall semester, but an equal part of me was more than ready for summer to be here and I think my district, staff and students, felt the same way.

A friend of mine recently posted her “Summer Bucket List” on her blog: believinginsomething.com, and I thought I’d do the same.

So, here it goes, my summer bucket list:

1) Go the the Oregon coast! We just booked our stay today. We have this little bungalow reserved in Waldport. I’ve had my eye on it for a while. It’s a two block walk to the beach, with a great view from the patio. Aside from trips back to my husband’s childhood home(s), we have not taken a single vacation as a family since we’ve been married. I am SO excited! I’ve been to the coast once in high school and it was a brief day trip. This will be the first coast trip for Ken and the kids though. If you have any suggestions of where to go, I’d love to hear them. So far we’re planning to go to the aquarium and maybe whale watching on a boat tour. We’ll be staying four nights and it’s still up in the air whether we will stay a fifth night in Portland or just take two days coming home.

2) Explore our local parks with Grace. So far we’ve hit up three, with Settlers being our favorite. I’d like to add at least three more to our list. It’s hard to beat the splash pad though. In the last week we have been to the park six times, and three of those times we went to Settlers. It’s just that good:) Grace’s walking has really taken off and I attribute it to the fact that we’ve spent so much time at the park. She wants to keep up with everyone else.

3) Read! I’d like to fit in at least five books this summer. I just recently finished one and started another last night, so I’m thinking this goal should be pretty attainable.

4) Try a new recipe a week and a new wine each month. I’d love to try a new wine each week, but that might make it difficult to accomplish the next goal on my list.

5) Lose five pounds. I’ve managed to get back to what I weighed prior to being pregnant, but I’d really like to lose a few more and tone up a bit.

6) Thoroughly clean my closet and my garage and either have a yard sale or take a big trip to the Idaho Youth Ranch to donate.

7) Plan a summer BBQ for friends at our house, as well as plan Ken’s 31st birthday party.

8) Spend a weekend in McCall. This shouldn’t be too hard. We have friends getting married there in August.

9) Go camping at least once.

10) Spend a day at Roaring Springs.

11) Set up a website for my photography.

12) Spend more time with friends. I tend to be pretty anti-social during the school year.

13) Spend a night with just Ken for our anniversary. This makes me a little nervous. Grace will be well taken care of, but Ken and I have only gone out on four occasions without her since she was born, so an entire night seems like a big stretch, but I think it will be good.

14) Go on more dates with my husband! I love being a mom and I love my time with Grace, but sometimes it’s just good to get out with just Ken, so I plan to start doing that more often. Now that she’s older, it’s easier. I’m planning to have my niece over quite a bit this summer, so that she feels comfortable watching Grace alone on nights Ken and I go out.

15) Go on a few day trips. I’d like to take Fenix to the Sand Dunes and spend a day at Lucky Peak. There’s a lot of really great places to explore nearby and this summer I want to start doing that!

16) Hopefully reap the benefits from our garden. Ken built us a raised garden bed at the end of April and we spent some time filling it up a few weeks ago. We’re growing tomatoes, jalepeno, squash, peppers, and onions, as well as strawberries in our whiskey barrels and raspberries along the fence. This is pretty much our first attempt at growing anything edible and so I’m excited to see how it all turns out.

I think that sums up my summer goals. More than anything I’m looking forward to relaxing with my daughter. I’m looking forward to low key mornings, drinking coffee while Grace plays in the bath, afternoons at the park, staying up super late watching “Criminal Minds” with my husband, summer foods, and BBQs.

It’s going to be a good, well earned, summer, so bring it on!:)

3 thoughts on “Summer Is Finally Here…

  1. Um, you need to go to Mo’s when you’re in Oregon. I don’t know where Waldport is in conjunction with it but there’s bound to be one nearby. But sadly, I don’t know if you or Ken are seafood people (I should know this). Anyway, their clam chowder is to die for and so is their fried shrimp. Mo’s is a must! That’s the only input I have. Although, I’m sure Sarah would have a lot more. You should Facebook this question. (My mom took me to the coast a few times as a kid and I know we went to the aquarium and I’m pretty sure a sea lion cave…perhaps look into that, I’m not sure I know what I’m talking about).

    • We will definitely check out Mo’s! Thank you! I’m not much into seafood, unless fish sticks count. Fenix LOVES shrimp though, and so we had planned on going out for seafood, so thank you. I don’t actually know where Waldport is in conjunction with everything else either. I was just kind of banking on the idea that everything is somewhat close together…I hope. I know the aquarium is nearby. I love you!

  2. Pingback: The Absolute Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe-I Promise! « moderndaymatriarch

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

