The Absolute Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe-I Promise!

Despite being June, it’s kind of a wretched day weather wise.  Yesterday it was in the 90’s.  Today,  53 and  windy!, and THAT’S Idaho weather for you!

To be honest, I don’t mind.  I have spent the day in my sweats.  At around three, when Grace went down for her afternoon nap, I decided it was time to at least do my hair and make up.  I figure I should look relatively human when my husband gets home.  He sees me sans makeup with my hair a wicked mess enough as it is.

For whatever reason, when it’s cold and gross outside like today, I want to bake.  Cookie dough, the smell of vanilla, warm chocolate chip cookies, it’s almost too much to resist, but I am.  If I want to accomplish number five on my summer bucket list, then it’s best I stay away from baking for a while; far, far, away.

However, that doesn’t mean I can’t share what I would bake if I could, right?

A while ago I went on a quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe.  When I stumbled upon the recipe below (from MarthaStewart.com), my quest was over, my mission accomplished.  I had found my chocolate chip cookie recipe staple.

Now, just because I’m refraining from baking, doesn’t mean that you have to, right?

Here is what you’ll need:

*2 1/4 cups flour

*1/2 teaspoon baking soda

*1 cup room temperature butter (margarine seems to make them flat, so I’d avoid it if you can)

*1/2 cup sugar

*1 cup light brown sugar

*1 teaspoon salt

*2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

*2 eggs

*2 cups or one bag semi sweet chocolate chips

What you’ll need to do:

*Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

*In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda.

*In the bowl of your mixer, combine the butter with both sugars and mix on medium speed using the paddle attachment.

*Reduce the speed to low and add in the eggs, vanilla, and salt.

*Beat until well mixed, and then add in the flour and baking soda mixture.

*When everything has been combined, add in the chocolate chips and then steal a huge heaping spoonful of the dough (because that’s pretty much my favorite part!)

*Drop large tablespoonful balls of cookie dough onto your cookie sheet and bake 9-11 minutes.  Once you see a hint of brown at the edges of your cookies, they’re done.

*Let them cool for 3-4 minutes and transfer them to a cooling rack.

And then, dig in, because these cookies are excellent and sinfully full of chocolate.  I made these last week for Fenix and his friend and they couldn’t keep their hands off of them.

One thought on “The Absolute Best Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe-I Promise!

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

