Happy Dad’s Day!

Today is Father’s Day (way to state the obvious, right?).

I really don’t brag about talk up my husband enough on my blog.

In truth, I just don’t think about it when I’m blogging. I love my husband. I know what a great father and husband he is. I see that daily. Which is maybe why I don’t write about it much. I don’t need to. (That, and we might as well acknowledge the elephant in the room on my blog, I struggle to keep this thing up to date!:) However, I think I need to blog about him more.

Starting right now.

I have been blessed with the man that I married. He is my absolute best friend! I knew I could spend the rest of my life with him, the first time I truly laughed with him. We laugh. We talk. We watch mini marathons of “Criminal Minds” together. We used to (before Grace) spend hours at Barnes and Noble together, or afternoons at Edwards having a movie marathon. We have gone through years of ups together and quite a few downs as well. Ken brings me flowers for no reason. He makes dinner for me on a regular basis, insisting I stay out of the kitchen. He works HARD. There was a time when he worked two jobs for our family. He is a phenomenal husband, but equal to that, and the reason I am writing this, is that Ken is a great dad.

There was never a question as to whether or not Ken and I would have kids. I never had apprehension on whether or not our parenting styles would match up, or whether Ken would pull an equal amount of parenting weight, because prior to having Grace, I watched Ken and his relationship with Fenix for years.

My husband is a GOOD father. He is committed. He is a strong role model. He is in love with his children! And in turn, they are equally in love with him. He packs Fenix’s lunches, occasionally writing him notes (on his banana no less!), whether Fenix is with us or his mom, Ken goes out of his way to arrange his schedule so that he can take Fenix to school, to make his soccer games and practices, to attend choir concerts, field trips, and school activities. That may not seem like much, but when you work retail (Ken works in a retail pharmacy) scheduling anything other than work can be tricky! The fact that Ken does these things does not necessarily make him a good father, it’s the fact that he ENJOYS it! Ken loves spending time with Fenix, whether it’s running him to school or practice, or volunteering at a school fiend trip, Ken enjoys all of it. This year Ken went with Fenix and his class to the middle school for “Pioneer Days” (The focus of fourth grade social studies is Idaho History). Throughout the day I received pictures via my phone from Ken, and that night when we sat down for dinner, both Fenix and Ken had stories to tell. Ken has a relationship with his son that no one, me included, can touch. It’s almost like they have a secret language, and they laugh A LOT! One of my favorite sounds in the world is listening to the two of them laugh together. I remember a few years ago walking into the rec room and seeing both Ken and Fenix collapsed on the rec room floor, laughing hysterically at the fainting goats they just saw on T.V. They are best friends, and really, what more can you ask for than that?

When Grace hears the front door open in the evening, she knows her daddy is home from work, and her entire face lights up, and her arms start waving excitedly, as she stumbles toward the door to greet him. She loves her daddy. There was a time, when he was the only one to get her to laugh, and he still seems to bring out the best laughs in her. He gets up in the middle of the night to rock her back to sleep, he plays with her at the park. He reads the many books she throws in his lap. He adores her, and the feeling is mutual. I have loved watching the two of them together this first year, and I can’t wait to watch their relationship grow, as she does, through the years.

Ken, I love you! I am so grateful for you and so happy to be raising children with you! Thank you for everything you do for this family! Thank you for being such an understanding and compassionate husband and father. Thank you for your hard work and your commitment to our family. Thank you for all of your love! Happy Father’s Day baby! We appreciate you and are so grateful to have you in our lives!

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

