M.I.A.

So, I have kind of been M.I.A. the last two weeks.

When summer hit, I thought for sure that my blog would be kept up to date at least until school started back up in August. I had planned to post a few times a week between WordPress’s weekly photo challenge, my “What Are You Having For Dinner? Wednesday” posts, and family updates.

Whelp, I have already failed! I have only posted once in the last two weeks. I’ve managed to miss two “What Are YOU Having For Dinner? Wednesday” posts, and the weekly photo challenge.

Last week I had an excuse…well, kind of. I spent three days last week at a workshop for the new common core set of teaching standards. I drug my feet getting there that first day, but once I was there, I was grateful I signed on to go, and I was excited! Truly excited! The common core is definitely raising the bar and asking more from our students. The first few years will be difficult as the students adjust and learn the skills that the common core are asking of them, but I can’t wait to see the results five to ten years down the road. In addition to that, it was just a plain great workshop! I left with great classroom resources, and I felt refreshed as a teacher. Which was a feeling I needed after this last year in our district.

This last week I really don’t have much of an excuse at all. I’ve been sick and a little whiny these past two days, but other that I’ve been busy playing with Grace, reading, and watching classless T.V. (I managed to catch a “Dance Moms” marathon. My gosh! What are they thinking signing on for that show? You’d think after they watched themselves in season one, they would notsign on for more seasons. Their behavior is wretched…but entertaining:)

Despite my bout of blog laziness, I have a few posts in the works before we head to the coast on Tuesday, so keep an eye out!

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer!

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

