Pancake Muffins {A Quick and Easy (Did I Mention Freezable?) Toddler Breakfast}

Because I am absolutely overwhelmed with school work (I have a lesson to plan, ISAT raffle incentives to throw together, and a unit to start piecing together for my master’s class that’s due in six weeks that I have YET to EVEN start on) and errands that I need to run (the mall-I need to go bra shopping-bleh-ten times more dreaded once you have a toddler), oh yeah, and a soccer game to attend in approximately an hour and a half, the most logical thing to do seems to be avoiding all of that, and posting this easy peasy breakfast recipe I tried out the other day.

 

Pancake Muffins.

IMG_3179

Did I mention they are super easy?

Because they are.

AND, you can freeze them, which is precisely why I made them.  Grace eats  a lot of peanut butter toast and yogurt in the morning-not that there is anything wrong with that, but I wanted to make something easy that I could wake up and thaw out so that it would be ready and waiting for her when her and daddy woke up for breakfast. (I leave the house about an hour and a half before the rest of my household does, so I don’t get to eat breakfast with Grace on typical school day.)

This recipe was exactly what I was looking for.  I borrowed the basic idea from http://onceamonthmom.com/, and then changed it a bit to fit what I looking for.

Here is what you’ll need:

*2 Cups Pancake Mix (the easy kind, where all you have to do is add water)

*1.5 Cups Water (I used Hungry Jack and followed the measurements on the back, so if you use a different brand, you’ll have adjust measurements accordingly.)

IMG_3158

*Muffin Tins

*Possible Mix Ins (Here’s what I mixed into my muffins):

-Frozen Blueberries (thawed)

-Frozen Strawberries (thawed)

-Syrup

(I mixed the above in separately so that Grace had a few blueberry pancake muffins, a few strawberry, and a few with syrup baked in.  You could also add bananas, peaches, chocolate chips, raisins, the possibilities are endless.  Choose whatever your little mini me heart desires.)

Here’s what you’ll need to do:

*Mix you water and pancake mix the same as you would if you were making pancakes, only instead of dealing with the mess of cleaning the skillet afterwards, pour your pancake mix into muffin tins (you’ll want to fill your tins 3/4 of the way full, and this should make 18 pancake muffins).

*Once your batter has been poured in, sprinkle whatever mix-ins you see fit across the top.  Most likely some of your fruit will drop, so fill ’em up!

Bake for 15 minutes until golden across the top.  You should be able to insert a toothpick and have it come out clean.

*Let your toddler enjoy!

IMG_3167

 

IMG_3173

 

Grace had two and then I cut her off and handed her some fruit.  I even stole one of her strawberry ones and was pleasantly surprised.

The rest I threw in the freezer so that dad has an easy breakfast on the mornings when he’s in a hurry to get the kids out the door.  

One thought on “Pancake Muffins {A Quick and Easy (Did I Mention Freezable?) Toddler Breakfast}

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

