Confessional Friday

Happy Friday! Grace and I slept in until 8:15 this morning, which I think may be a record! Normally, my daughter is up by six on a work day, and seven, if we’re lucky, on a day I don’t work. 8:15 felt like heaven.

20130503-095405.jpg

It’s Friday, so I’m linking up again with A Blonde Ambition for Confessional Friday. So here goes nothing.

I Confess:

tomorrow’s Grace’s birthday party and I am feeling a wee-bit overwhelmed. I have a house to clean, presents to shop for and wrap, cupcakes to make and frost, a house to decorate, a birthday outfit to find, and I still want to squeeze in a trip to the park with Grace at some point today. As soon as I’m done with this blog post, Grace is hitting the bath and then we’re hitting the road.

I’d really like to put Grace in dance or soccer sometime this summer, but classes are so dang expensive! Pretty much every soccer class I can find is $60$-70. Somehow $50 seems so much more reasonable. That’s hard to justify with a toddler, but I really think she’ll like it. Every ball she sees is a “bacca” (soccer) ball, and she loves watching Fenix play/totting his “bacca” ball around the house.

The only dance class I can find that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg is through parks and rec and it’s dance, tumbling, and cheer… I kind of just want to find her mommy and me dance class. I think I may cave in and sign her up though, because it’s just 35 dollars, is right in town, and she’ll get to play with other little girls, which I really think she needs! When we went to the park last week, she was really digging the act of socializing. I need to find ways to get her around other kids her age. On top of that, my daughter seriously loves to dance. I posted the following video to Facebook the other day. I changed the privacy settings so that I could post it here. Grace has some moves. SYTYCD here we come!

To check out Grace getting her dance on, click here.

I read a post the other day from another blogger about being a stay at home mom. I’m a working mom. I work out of necessity, but even if I worked out of choice, I kind of feel like that’s my prerogative. It doesn’t make me less of a mom. It doesn’t mean I don’t love my children any more or less than that of a stay at home mom. Until I was a mom myself, I didn’t realize how competitive moms were in the blog and internet world. I kind of feel like being a mom is tough enough, and if anything we should be supporting and lifting each other up instead of judging lifestyles and situations we don’t understand. I was actually a bit shocked that people truly feel that way. I could go on and on, but I think it’s said best here: http://www.mom-101.com/2012/04/the-myth-of-the-rich-selfish-working-mom.html by Mom 101.

It’s been a long stressful week of work. This weekend is much deserved, and I am definitely in summer countdown mode.

-I don’t understand Twitter or Google Plus. I have a Google Plus account. I don’t even remember going through the motions of setting that up, but I have one, so now what do I do with it? (Oh yeah, if you have added me in your circle and I haven’t added you, it’s because I’m a complete geek and don’t know what I’m doing…at all.) Ken and I have tossed around Twitter, but I just don’t understand. We already have facebook, to post pics of the kids and keep in touch with friends and family. So I’m not sure the benefit to twitter or if I have it in me to “tweet”. I would love to be enlightened in either area.

Welp, that it is for today. I hope you enjoy your weekend. We’re looking at a weekend of sun, cupcakes, and Micky Mouse.

2 thoughts on “Confessional Friday

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always useful to read through content from other writers and
    use a little something from their websites.

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

