18 Weeks

O.K., so technically as of tomorrow I’ll be 19, but the above photo was taken last week.  I’m just late posting, which is not in the least bit surprising:)

This picture is a bit more recent…and frightening.

19 weeks

When I was pregnant with Grace I posted similar photos to my blog.  I looked them up the other day to compare, and my gosh!  I am huge for 19 weeks.  This pic looks more like the picture I took at 26 weeks than it does the pictures I took at 20 weeks.  They say you show sooner with your second. I’m just hoping this slows down a bit.

The second semester has been much smoother than the first, and I feel like I’m finally reaching the point where I can relax a bit and enjoy being pregnant.  I hate to admit it, but I didn’t feel as connected to this baby/pregnancy as I thought I would when I first got pregnant.  I think a big part of that was the fact that I was freakin’ sick all-the-time, a little stressed by work, and super worried about bringing this baby home and how our lives would change.  I was worried about money and space, as well as balance.  I’m not nearly as sick (yay!), I very rarely think about work (although I need to start), and although I’m still worried about the financial end of having and raising this baby, my excitement/love far outweighs my worry.

I’m sure it helps that I’ve started to feel the little man move.  That started a little bit before I hit 16 weeks.  I’ve been able to feel that rolling/tumbling sensation in my lower belly, and just yesterday I am confident I felt a few kicks.  I was lying curled up  in the papasan  with a book and my hand rested on my belly, when I felt two little bumps.  I called Ken it to feel, but of course by that time, baby boy Dietz was done.  I’m sure it will be a few more weeks until I feel movement like that on a consistent basis, but I most definitely feel connected to the little person taking refuge in my womb right now:)

Here are a few other tidbits from this stage in the game.

Weeks? 19 (tomorrow)

Cravings?  Chips and Salsa…Coke, which I do, occasionally, give in on (I figure there are worse things), and peaches.

Weight Gain?  Ha!  I’m totally not sharing that.  I’m a little disturbed and worried about losing the baby weight the second time around.  I gained 35 with Grace and lost all but five…three on a good day.  I was lucky and nursing mixed with walking and the occasional spurt of eating healthy took the majority of it off.  Although, it was slow going, and I never did get that last little bit off.  This time, I’d like it all gone by the following Christmas (2015) and I’m hoping I’m not jinxing myself by saying that.  I had really hoped to gain 25 lbs this pregnancy, but I’m fairly certain I’ll gain about the same as I did with Grace, at least I’m heading in that direction now.

Symptoms?  Migraines (thankfully I seem to have found a way to have some control over them and am averaging one major one every week to week and a half-which is SO much better than it was before). My lower back has been super sore as well.  I’m sure it was with Grace, but I just can’t remember it happening this soon.  I’ve been doing lots of stretching to loosen it up.

Names?  We aren’t any closer to choosing a name yet, and we do have time.  I’m beginning to wonder if we’ll need to see the little man before a name clicks.  So far I’m still really stuck on Ryland, Avery, or Kendrick.  We’re pretty sure on the middle name, unless we end up with any form of Ken, and then it will be back to the drawing board for middle names (although I am partial to Jude).

Extras?  I started my progesterone shots last week, which means I get to have bonding time with my nurse every week until we hit week 37.  We really debated having Ken just do them, and then I ran the math, and once you take out the cost of the drug itself, the office fees don’t add up to too much, especially if I’m already going in for appointments with the doctor(with Grace it was twice a week from 20 weeks on, I’m hoping things go a bit smoother, and I’ll be able to go in less).   I may change my mind, but to be honest, having Ken do it makes me a bit nervous.  Not because of him, but because I am so jittery around needles.

So that pretty much wraps up where the baby and I are at right now.  21 more weeks to go (or somewhere around there)!

On a somewhat related note, my friend Sharlee is doing a series on her blog right now called “Girl Talk”.  Every other Wednesday she interviews two to three different women on various issues that are important to them.  I was asked to contribute to her last topic, starting a family,  and you can check it out here.   She should have another post coming out this Wednesday, so while you are in this neck of the woods, you should hop over and check it out/contribute in the comments.

One thought on “18 Weeks

  1. Pingback: July Can Be Summed Up In Two Words… | ModernDayMatriarch

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

