24 Weeks and Other News

We’ve made it to 24 weeks (almost 25)!  Less than 16 weeks to go and we’ll be able to meet our newest addition face to face.  Time is flying!  That first trimester seemed to crawl by, but I feel like we’re speeding though the second.  Three more weeks and we’re on to that last trimester.  It’s hard to believe it’s going by so quickly!

I took the photo below the Sunday before hitting 24 weeks. I look bigger than I am in this photo. I think it’s the shirt and the weird way I’m choosing to stand.  However, I managed to get Grace to cooperate, so I’m including it:)

IMG_7428

IMG_7430

These may be a bit more accurate looking and I took them yesterday.

24 weeks

24 weeks 2

 

I’ve been feeling great!  The baby is healthy.  I’m healthy.  They’re still making me get a progesterone shot once a week just to be on the safe side, but things are holding steady.  I’m officially having a normal pregnancy!    I’ve even managed to continue to eliptical…well, right up until school started and now I’m lucky if I eliptical once to twice a week.  I’m hoping now that I’m back into the swing of things I’ll be able to budget that in or at least a walk on a regular basis.

We have yet to name the newest Dietz to be, and I’ve kind of resigned myself to the idea that he may not have a name until he’s here.  I’m thinking once we see him, it will click.  At least I hope so.  I would hate to be stuck at the hospital, undecided.  I’m fairly certain it will come to us though.

I went to the doctor on Friday to finish up our anatomy scan.  Ken came to our official one, along with my sister and my niece, but the tech wasn’t able to get a good profile shot or a picture of all angles of the heart.  Ken had to work during this last appointment, which was a bummer, but this was probably my favorite ultrasound, aside from the fact that the tech had to make me lay on my side and then DUG her little ultrasound wand into my hip to make our stubborn child move into a position where she could see all that she needed.  I got to watch him kick and punch and feel it at the same time, which was really neat to see.

 

 

 

ultrasound 24 weeks 2

24 week ultrasound

Anywho…here are a few more bits and pieces from this stage in the game.

Weeks? 24 (25 on Tuesday, although baby boy is measuring a week and a few days ahead, not that that really means too much, but perhaps he will come a week early.  I’d be O.K. with that.)

Cravings?  Sandwiches with tons of veggies!  We had subway for lunch on our first day of school and there was one with just veggies.  After I piled on a bunch of peppers,  I was hooked. I’ve spent the last few weeks making sandwiches with so many vegetables they’ve been hard to close.  Case in point, see the photo below. That’s pretty much it.  Nothing weird.  No pickles dipped in peanut butter or midnight trips to the store for Ken to pick me up ice cream.  Although, I did have us ditch our initial dinner plans to make us get Chinese food on Friday. Other than that, I’ve been pretty boring as far as the world of pregnancy cravings go.  (Speaking of which, on one of the pregnancy website I’m a part of someone posted that they were craving baby powder and wanted to know if they should cave in and eat it.  Seriously!  I can’t even make that stuff up!)

cravings

Weight Gain?  I’ve managed to gain a pound a week since entering the second trimester.  I’m hoping to keep it at that.  I had really hoped to gain less with this pregnancy than I did with Grace, but I’m thinking it will be right around the same.  I’ve beaten myself up quite a bit about weight gain, and I just need to get over it and myself.  It is what it is.

Symptoms?  I feel good. The only thing that bothers me is my lower back.  I frequently find myself having to find creative ways to get out of bed:)

Names? Not even close.

Extras?  This baby is ACTIVE!  I feel him move all the time, and I love it.  I think part of the reason that I’ve been so lazy since starting school (well, aside from the shear exhaustion factor) is because I feel him the most when I’m relaxed and lounging around the house. I think when I’m at school and on the go all the time, that I lull him to sleep, so he’s a bit more active once I’m home for the night and able to sit/lie down.

That pretty much sums up everything on the baby front.  In other news, I’ve gone back to school.  We already have two weeks of the school year under our belt.  I had a hard time going back.  There were lots of tears on my end. Grace was adorably sweet those first few morning and clung to me and told me not to go because I had to stay and cuddle with her, but once she made it to daycare she forgot how much she missed me:)  She’s really enjoyed seeing all of her friends and getting to play.  They officially start their preschool curriculum in September, so for these first few weeks it’s just been playtime.  I’m enjoying my students a lot. They’re a fun group and it’s too soon to see any attitude peaking out, so thus far, everyone has been on their best behavior…for the most part.  I definitely have some chatters:)

school

Fenix starts back tomorrow, at which points summer will officially be over.  We have had a pretty low key weekend.  Outside of our emergency trip to get Chinese food, we’ve stayed home, gone bike riding, and had a movie night.

bike riding

grace on her bikefenix

grace the superhero

Grace decided to wear her superhero mask (a.k.a. her brother’s goggles) for our movie.  She’s a strange one, but I wouldn’t have her any other way.

Oh, and in potty training news, Grace is finally getting it!  She is going potty all on her own.  If we’re home she loudly announces she needs to potty and then makes her way to the bathroom.  If we’re in public, she lets us know so we can take her.  She still has one accident a day though.  We seem to have mastered potty, just not the other one.  Hopefully, we will be there soon.  It’s only taken us six weeks to get pottying on the potty down, what’s another two or three weeks, right? 🙂

I appreciate you stopping by to read! Feel free to leave a comment.

